It is currently Fri 19 Apr 2024 2:48 am

All times are UTC

Forum rules

Please click here to view the forum rules

PostPosted: Sun 18 Apr 2021 6:42 pm 

Dia Daoibh,

I'm studying Irish and still a beginner. I posted on here some time ago asking questions about the original / Irish spelling of the Anglicized surname "Curran" - Ó Corraidhín.

I wanted to ask about pronunciation, spelling and the silent letters in the name.

I know it varies based on where you are in the country. My understanding is in Donegal it would most commonly be pronounced Oh-CURR-en, and in other parts of the country (among other pronunciations) it might be pronounced Oh-core-rain. Wanted to ask:

1). How/why the "dh" ended up in there in the first place
2). When a slender vowel precedes dh, does it become silent, as well? So that you're basically pronouncing "Corraín" with the slender i and the dh all silent and the second syllable sound coming from from the aín?

Go raibh maith agat!

PostPosted: Sun 18 Apr 2021 10:22 pm 

gortahork wrote:
Dia Daoibh,

I'm studying Irish and still a beginner. I posted on here some time ago asking questions about the original / Irish spelling of the Anglicized surname "Curran" - Ó Corraidhín.

I wanted to ask about pronunciation, spelling and the silent letters in the name.

I know it varies based on where you are in the country. My understanding is in Donegal it would most commonly be pronounced Oh-CURR-en, and in other parts of the country (among other pronunciations) it might be pronounced Oh-core-rain. Wanted to ask:

1). How/why the "dh" ended up in there in the first place
2). When a slender vowel precedes dh, does it become silent, as well? So that you're basically pronouncing "Corraín" with the slender i and the dh all silent and the second syllable sound coming from from the aín?

Go raibh maith agat!

The name was Corradh.
Corrán (< Corradhán?) and Corraidhín are diminutives of it ("little Corradh").
So Ó Corráin and Ó Corraidhín.