It is currently Tue 23 Oct 2018 11:43 am

All times are UTC

Forum rules

Please click here to view the forum rules

Post subject: Irish tattoo
PostPosted: Thu 10 May 2018 4:10 pm 

Hi everybody, having started to learn Irish just yesterday as an absolute beginner I'd better look for some help for the tattoo I'm getting. Just looking up the words in a dictionary can be risky I assume ;-)

Here's what I like to have; me being German it is kind of translated twice so I'll explain what it means to me. In English I'd say
" my friend - my love - my place - my life" this is obviously dedicated to the one special woman in my life.
the dictionary tells me:
" mo cara -mo grá - mo áit - mo saol"

"friend and love" seem an easy choice to me, are they not?

to me "place" seems to be difficult; to me it does not mean "home" but more of "I cannot be in the wrong place if I'm with you" or "my place is always by your side, home or away from home"

is there a difference in meaning between "saol" and "beatha"?

Apart from that, would an Irish speaker use "mo"? I want it to be just the way a native speaker would say that.

Your help is greatly appreciated... thank you in advance.

Post subject: Re: Irish tattoo
PostPosted: Thu 10 May 2018 6:21 pm 

an bhaird wrote:
" mo cara -mo grá - mo áit - mo saol"

mo chara - mo ghrá - m’áit - mo shaol

PostPosted: Thu 10 May 2018 8:53 pm 

an bhaird, why don't you share with us what you had in mind in German, if you'd like?

PostPosted: Thu 10 May 2018 11:10 pm 

Quote:
is there a difference in meaning between "saol" and "beatha"

Both can mean "life", and the usage normally depends on the context (sometimes either can be used, but sometimes one is preferable to the other). One explanation I've heard is that one uses saol when speaking about a particular life, and beatha when speaking about "life" in the abstract. That isn't entirely accurate, but does give some idea of the usage. Saol can also mean "world".