It is currently Sun 07 Jul 2024 10:28 am

All times are UTC

Forum rules

Please click here to view the forum rules

PostPosted: Thu 16 Jan 2014 1:59 pm 

I need some help with the correct translations and pronunciation for some Irish words in a series of novels I am writing that takes place in Ireland. Specifically the Doolin/County Clare area. One of the books has a lot of focus on Kilronan, Inís Mór, Aran Islands. I am an American author and a majority of my readers will speak American English. I will have a glossary in the front of each book with Irish words, pronunciation and meaning as well as Irish slang and it's meaning. Here's the Irish names/words/statements I've go so far and the translations I've found. They're probably wrong, since every website I checked had a different translation. :/ Please let me know if I got any of the symbols within the words wrong as well. I greatly appreciate any help you all can be! :)

Brigid - Pronounced Bridge-id

Eijit - Pronounced aye-git Meaning: idiot

Mo Grá - Pronounced muh-ghraw - Gaelic for ‘my love’.

Oisin - Pronounced oh-ee-shen - meaning ‘little deer’.

Niamh - Pronounced Neeve

Tuatha De Danann - Pronounced Two-ah-hah De Don-non - children of the Celtic goddess Danu.

Fomoire - Pronounced fwhem-id-ah

Falais - Pronounced Fall-eece - One of the four great cities of the Tuatha De Danaan. Associated with Lia Fáil

Lia Fáil - Pronounced Lee-ah Fail - aka - Stone of Destiny - One of the four Irish Treasures of the Tuatha De Danaan. The stone would cry out beneath the true king of Ireland.

Gorias - Pronounced Gore-us - One of the four great cities of the Tuatha De Danaan. Associated with Lugh’s Spear.

Lugh’s Spear - Pronounced Loo - One of the four Irish Treasures of the Tuatha De Danaan. No battle was ever sustained against it or against the man who held it.

Murias - Pronounced Mord-us - One of the four great cities of the Tuatha De Danaan. Associated with Dagda’s Cauldron.